Outlander Sites in Philadelphia

by Nicole Quasté

Feb 11, 2018

Independence Hall, Philadelphia © F11photo | Dreamstime

Trends / Unique Itineraries & Tours

Fans of Outlander, Diana Gabaldon’s bestselling eight-book series now also a hit TV show on Starz, can experience the story’s most famed locations and inspirations in Philadelphia.

The series focuses on a World War II British army nurse, Claire, who travels through time to meet an 18th-century Scottish Highlander, Jamie Fraser. Their story unfolds on the streets of historic Philadelphia.

The couple meets Dr. Benjamin Rush, Thomas Paine, Benedict Arnold, George Washington and Marquis de Lafayette, and Jamie serves under General Washington in the Continental Army.

An Echo in the Bone, the seventh book in the Outlander series, arrives in Philadelphia in 1777 when the city is in rebel hands. Notable sites in the book include Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and Elfreth’s Alley.

A house at 17 Chestnut St. is the center of much of the action in Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. The location was fictional, but provides an accurate sense of what the life was like in the 18th-century Society Hill neighborhood. St. George’s United Methodist Church, located on North 4th Street, was also the setting of a famous wedding in the series.

Beyond the historic district, characters in the books and show venture outside city limits to sites including Bartram’s Garden along the Schuylkill River, Cliveden House in Germantown, Valley Forge National Historical Park, The Dandelion restaurant and Mount Pleasant in Fairmont Park.

Tips / Destination
Mar 19, 2019

Eating Vegan in Montréal

At first thought, you might be tempted to think Montréal has tons of vegan options. While the options are certainly plentiful, you still need to be thoughtful about where you go.

Work and Play in Italy

Once business concludes, a world of wonder awaits in many of Italy’s incredible cities.

Products / Food/Drink
Mar 19, 2019

Plant-Based Meals from Sprinly

Sprinly is the meal delivery service for individuals living a plant-based lifestyle.

Products / Other
Mar 19, 2019

Thriftbooks

Sometimes it can feel like splurging on books is more expensive than it should be. Prices for novels are high and, for some, unaffordable. Even older titles, considered classics, can cost more than someone bargained. Many turned to reading books online or downloading audio files because it’s a cheaper alternative to physical books. However, what about the population of readers who love to read from paperbacks and hardcovers? Thankfully, there are companies like Thriftbooks that make it possible to afford books.

Rental Cars Offer Flexibility for Business, Leisure or Both

Bleisure — it’s a term we’re all familiar with these days. After all, millennials drive the rising trend, combining business and leisure trips regularly. Take a few days to decompress in a new destination after a hectic schedule of meetings and business.

Top 5 / South America
Mar 18, 2019

Top 5: Things to Do in Chile’s Colchagua Wine Country

The Colchagua Wine Country in Chile is one of the most romantic destinations in the country. Here are some of the best things to do for lovers celebrating an anniversary or special getaway: