Outlander Sites in Philadelphia

by Nicole Quasté

Feb 11, 2018

Independence Hall, Philadelphia © F11photo | Dreamstime

Trends / Unique Itineraries & Tours

Fans of Outlander, Diana Gabaldon’s bestselling eight-book series now also a hit TV show on Starz, can experience the story’s most famed locations and inspirations in Philadelphia.

The series focuses on a World War II British army nurse, Claire, who travels through time to meet an 18th-century Scottish Highlander, Jamie Fraser. Their story unfolds on the streets of historic Philadelphia.

The couple meets Dr. Benjamin Rush, Thomas Paine, Benedict Arnold, George Washington and Marquis de Lafayette, and Jamie serves under General Washington in the Continental Army.

An Echo in the Bone, the seventh book in the Outlander series, arrives in Philadelphia in 1777 when the city is in rebel hands. Notable sites in the book include Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and Elfreth’s Alley.

A house at 17 Chestnut St. is the center of much of the action in Written in My Own Heart’s Blood. The location was fictional, but provides an accurate sense of what the life was like in the 18th-century Society Hill neighborhood. St. George’s United Methodist Church, located on North 4th Street, was also the setting of a famous wedding in the series.

Beyond the historic district, characters in the books and show venture outside city limits to sites including Bartram’s Garden along the Schuylkill River, Cliveden House in Germantown, Valley Forge National Historical Park, The Dandelion restaurant and Mount Pleasant in Fairmont Park.

#trazeetravel

Insta Feed
South America
Jun 25, 2019

Astrid y Gastón, Lima

On a recent trip to Lima, Peru, I had the privilege of dining at Gastón Acurio’s original Astrid y Gastón, in Miraflores.

Leave Troublesome Rideshare Worries Behind

We can see it now and remember when it happened to us: Watching as the black car icon loops around and around, seemingly endlessly, and our wait time on the rideshare app continually changes. Long wait times and confused drivers are just a few bothersome issues that can nag at rideshare users. Need a solution? Ditch rideshares altogether in favor of renting a car on your next trip.

Beauty
Jun 25, 2019

Holistic Beauty from Naturopathica

Naturopathica offers holistic spa products for use in the comfort of your own home. The company was founded in 1995 with the mission to educate people on the benefits of holistic health and its connection to beauty.

Top 5 / Europe
Jun 24, 2019

Top 5: Attractions in Southwest England

This area is a popular holiday destination among Brits but large swathes are also quiet due to isolation from the rest of the country. Here are some of the top things to do in the area.

Pulled in Different Directions? Car Rental Can Help

While your first inclination might be panic when you map out the various appointments and meetings on your upcoming business trip, relax. Trust us, a rental car has you covered.

Tips / Travel
Jun 24, 2019

Travel Hacks from Flight Attendants

When it comes to getting the best tips and tricks in air travel, there’s almost no one better to consult than a flight attendant. Unlike pilots, these airplane crew members spend all their time in the cabins and are front and center to any and all passenger experiences. Here are a few travel hacks from those who fly for a living.